top of page

planet melancholia by. italo ferrante

[CW: abuse, self-harm, body image, eating disorders]


check / the crust of a hourglass planet / focus / an Hubble’s eye

view of a hangnail / the sunspots on my back / you ogle

mechanically / rather than lustfully / a reminder that I will fall

like a raw egg / into a giant drop of honey / when I look at you /

a surge of hold-me / drain-me / slingshots me across the room /

expensive flowers & mud in my undies / mean please stop /

a doll-sized black hole & half-moon eyebags / translate as

thank you / my sun sign makes me prone / to starve the weeks

away / until our disjunction / becomes conjunction / Venus

retrograde / explains why I shave my head / every night / & how

my chest big bangs for you



 


Italo Ferrante (he/him) earned a BA in English Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Warwick. He is currently undertaking an MA in Creative Writing at Lancaster University. To date, his work has been selected for publication by Train River, Nymphs & Thugs, Dreich, Queer Zine, Flash Journal, Reinvention, Poetry Salzburg, Impossible Archetype, Cardiff Review, Sage Cigarettes, Inflections Magazine, Lighthouse, and Orchard Lea Press.


Painting by. Fritz Schwimbeck

bottom of page