top of page

a winter love by. han

All my life I had Mother saying glamour rests in your body, let it control men,

I had Daddy saying lust is the best, let men run for you,

Charming boys had their ways to move,

I had my lying eyes and groove,

Shining in the light of old jazz, mean lips whisper destinies,

Memory's all dressed up in a red dress, finding gods behind the curtains,

Darling money sits on the lips, million dollar men find love in my list,

A screwed-up mess we all make,

Daddy saves me again, praising my hair,

It's all for the show we say, we live on celebrating family legacy.

Oh my god, I feel it in the air,

The galore, the running away future,

The fake vows, the heat of the honeymoon,

The cheating, the acceptance,

My glamorous life, his lustful vice,

A classic legend, gilded with the gold of the glitters

I leave on his friend's bed, on his cousin's neck, on our yacht's deck,

I love him, he loves me,

Dark Paradise since seventeen, real best friend,

This is what makes us worst for them,

We still stick together and put our bodies first,

The perfect couple, the only epitome that matters,

No children, we will live like rays of neon forever.



 


Han, like the river Han, finds themself flowing through life while cutting out their own path and identity through the surrounding rigid structures. Han is an introvert and a music addict, they are an English Literature graduate but find themselves too interested in philosophy, history and other arts to specify their field of interest. Their poems are confessions and support systems they have maintained for years.


Painting by. Mark Laver

bottom of page