top of page

cottagecore: epilogue

[Kexin]


SECTION SEVEN: escaping and falling


I know she secretly stuck a leaf of goosegrass on my back when we entered the forest, but I deliberately convinced her that I did not discover it. She got me hooked with her green bristles, intending to hide her love at night while marking it on me.


Night seeps into our flowery souls, only to carry the scent into the faint wind.


She runs away from me. Her silhouette / a flickering firefly illuminates the path.


Catch me. She whispers playfully.


Her sleeves / petals of marguerite, waving against the wind.


She is informidable. Her gentle soul is always with me, even when she escaped that way.


She needs to be capricious in front of me. It is her prerogative. We can both act like children in front of each other. Only the two of us can live in/like a forest of fairy tales.


She trips over in front of a clump of glossy yellow buttercups. We chuckle. Perfect mistakes are necessities in our storyline.


She is even more surreal when falling into our fairy tales.


She lies down on the forest floor. Her heart / pounding against the earth. Dandelion leaves are her lush pillows. She owns half a pillow of breeze in the dreamy moonbeam. Dandelion clocks around her are timing her heartbeats.


So I lie down with her palpable rhythm. The earth is our paradise in the forest. Our paradise for women knows all our secrets. In our paradise, flowers are eternal and can bloom at any speed.




* * *



[Dahlia]


SECTION EIGHT: i am your sun


X—the mark we left on the floor of the forests before you closed my eyes.


The pouring clouds have sent their feelings back to their lover. I wake up clutching a sunflower. It's not an ordinary flower. It's your way of telling me the sunflower looks up to the sun. I am your sun.

but the sun needs to shine on someone, to be a sun.


absences


Is the x still there?


The grey expanse reveals the colours it wanted to show to its lover. I brew my coffee observing their conversations. They don't speak the same scripts. Yet they carry the same letters; of unrequited love.


How do I express my feelings? Will you come back to my dream?


filling absence


there must be something beyond the x,


The green grass sleeps in their covers a little softly. It must be your lullabies. My heart wishes to be grass, to have laid in your embrace a little longer, to not open eyes to other lovers and their letters, to only look at you. It's natural to love you.

if you fill the absence, does it bring your presence again?


X


The spring air turns into a spectrum of seasons. The grass is bristling with thunder. The colours of the sky are touching the ocean floor. the lover has decided to send a letter~


The rain's lover hears a song of a human lover singing about dreams taking away the only love they found.


nature knows its ways and so does the heart




 



Special Edition. Contributers’ Compilation

Painting by. Thomas Wilmer Dewing

bottom of page